Former Prosecutor, Aggressive Defender Get in Contact

Reckless Driving Attorney in Orlando, Florida

Providing High-Quality Defense for Those Accused Across Orlando and Seminole County

Florida law defines reckless driving as operating a vehicle in a way that shows disregard for the safety of others and/or property. This is a serious offense. A conviction will result in fines and, depending on the circumstances, jail or prison time. If you've been charged, act quickly to retain a skilled attorney. The sooner you get legal representation on your side, the sooner they can build a defense to challenge the accusations.

Backed by 18 years of criminal trial experience, our Orlando lawyer has a comprehensive understanding of the law. You'll likely have many questions about the process, and we will be here to provide straightforward answers and honest counsel.

Tell us your side of the story during a free consultation by calling Z Law Firm today.

What Are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Florida?

In Florida, reckless driving can be classified as either a misdemeanor or felony, which means the conviction penalties can vary.

Under Florida Statute § 316.192, the potential punishments include:

  • First offense: A fine between $25 and $500 and/or up to 90 days in jail, or up to 6 months of probation.

  • Second or subsequent offense: A fine between $50 and $1,000 and/or up to 6 months in jail.

  • An offense involving damage to property: A first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a fine between $25 and $1,000 and/or up to 1 year in jail.

  • An offense involving serious bodily injury to another person: A third-degree felony, which carries a prison sentence of up to 5 years and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

Under Florida Statute § 316.192, “serious bodily injury” is defined as harm that can result in death or disfigurement, or impairment of a body part.

Representation for
Reckless Driving Charges

Reach Out Now

What Is a Habitual Felony Reckless Driver?

If the individual is considered a habitual felony reckless driver under Florida Statute § 775.084, the conviction penalties can include:

  • A prison term of 10 years;

  • A prison term of 10 years without eligibility for parole for the first 5 years; or

  • A prison term of 15 years with a mandatory minimum of 10 years

Schedule your free consultation by calling us or contacting us online.

Get Proven Defense on Your Side

At Z Law Firm, we strongly believe that a person is innocent until proven guilty. When you hire us, we will do everything in our legal power to challenge the accusations made against you and work toward a favorable outcome in your case.