Leaving the Scene of an
Accident in Orlando, Florida
Hit and Run Defense Across Orlando and Seminole County
If you or a loved one was charged with leaving the scene of an accident involving death or injuries, you could be looking at serious conviction penalties. Prison time, fines, and a guilty verdict on your criminal record can affect you for the rest of your life. When you're facing profound and lasting consequences, it's important to have a knowledgeable lawyer on your side to help fight your charges.
At Z Law Firm, our Orlando attorney has 18 years of experience and knows how the criminal justice system works. Listening to your side of the story, we will build an effective strategy for your unique circumstances. Whether your case can be settled out of court or must be taken to trial, our lawyer, who has served as a former prosecutor, will work toward a favorable outcome on your behalf.
We're ready to provide the personalized and aggressive legal representation you need. Call us for a free consultation.
Experience Legal SupportContact Z Law Firm
Florida's Penalties for Leaving the Scene of An Accident Involving Death or Injuries
In any crash involving death or injuries, the drivers of both vehicles must immediately stop their cars at the scene or as close to it as possible. They must remain in the area until they have exchanged all necessary information and fulfilled all legal requirements concerning rendering aid and calling for help.
Failure to do so will result in the following:
Third-degree felony charge: If the case involved minor injuries, a driver who leaves the scene will be charged with this degree of felony. A conviction could result in up to $5,000 in fines, up to 5 years of probation, up to 5 years in prison, and/or a 3-year driver's license suspension.
Second-degree felony charge: This degree is levied against drivers who fail to stop at the scene of an accident that resulted in serious bodily injury. The offense is punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, up to 15 years of probation, up to 15 years in prison, and/or a 3-year driver's license suspension.
First-degree felony charge: A person could face this degree of charge when they fail to uphold their legal duties after an accident that resulted in death. If they're convicted, they could face up to $15,000 in fines, up to 30 years of probation, up to 30 years in prison (with a mandatory 4-year sentence), and/or a 3-year driver's license suspension.
Learn more about your legal options by calling us or contacting us online.
Charged with A Crime? Call Z Law Firm for Legal Help.
Have you been accused of leaving the scene of an accident in Orlando? Our skilled attorney knows how to fight charges and will be on your side throughout your case, providing the solid guidance you need.