Orlando DUI Attorney
Tenacious Criminal Defense Across Orlando and Seminole County
Getting arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) can be a frightening experience. Most defendants have never had to deal with the criminal justice system and have maintained a stainless criminal record up to this point in their lives.
To be sure, a DUI charge is serious and should not be taken lightly. Failure to successfully fight your charges can result in hefty fines, jail time, suspension of your driving privileges, and higher-priced auto insurance. However, all hope is not lost. Z Law Firm, L.L.C. is here to help build a strong defense strategy for your case. Our Orlando DUI attorney has 18 years of legal experience and can competently guide you every step of the way.
Should You Hire A Lawyer For First Time DUI?
Should you get an attorney for a DUI? Doing so is often in your best interests, especially if there are aggravating factors. There are some instances where hiring a DUI attorney will make a difference in the outcome of your case.
Call (407) 315-2888 today to speak to an experiencedlawyerwho will fight to defend your rights.
What Constitutes Being “Under the Influence”
The first thing to understand about DUI laws is what it means to be “under the influence” of alcohol. In Florida, a person is considered under the influence of alcohol when they are impaired to the extent that they no longer have full possession of their normal faculties. If a person drives a motor vehicle in such a condition, they can be charged with DUI.
According to the per se DUI laws, if a person has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08%, they cannot lawfully drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle. The limit is lowered to .04% for commercial truck drivers and decreases to 0.02% for drivers under 21 years of age.
DUI Penalties in Orlando
In Florida, the punishment for driving under the influence is generally based on the number of previous DUI offenses and the recentness of those prior convictions. The severity of the penalties is also dependent on any aggravating circumstances. For example, if the driver had a BAC of 0.15% or more, it will result in harsher consequences.
The potential penalties for DUI include:
- First-offense DUI: a $500 to $1,000 fine, up to 6 months in jail, and 180 day- to 1-year driver’s license revocation
- Second-offense DUI: a $1,000 to $2,000 fine, up to 9 months in jail, 180 day- to 1-year driver’s license revocation, and 2-year ignition interlock device installation
- Misdemeanor third-offense DUI: a $2,000 to $5,000 fine, 30 days to 5 years in jail, 180 day- to 1-year driver’s license revocation, and 2-year ignition interlock device installation
- Felony third-offense DUI: a $2,000 to $5,000 fine, up to 12 months in jail, a minimum of 10-year driver’s license revocation, and 2-year ignition interlock device installation
For more information about your DUI charges, please refer to the following helpful resources:
With so much at stake, it is crucial to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who can protect your rights and freedom. Whether you have been charged with DUI for the first or third time, depend on Z Law Firm, L.L.C. to help you navigate this challenging time. Begin your defense with a free consultation. From the first meeting, you can work directly with our Orlando DUI lawyer on every aspect of your case.
As a former prosecutor, Attorney Zmijewski understands both sides of the law and how to use that to your advantage. He ensures that the rights of those he represents are protected.