Orlando Domestic Violence Attorney
Effectively Handling Domestic Abuse Cases Across Orlando and Seminole County for Nearly Two Decades
In Florida, a person can be charged with domestic violence for numerous actions, including harassing, verbally threatening, pushing, or hitting. The consequences for this type of offense range from fines and imprisonment to the loss of child custody and visitation rights.
If you have been arrested for domestic violence, Z Law Firm, L.L.C. is here to guide you through the complex legal process. Our Orlando attorney has nearly two decades of experience defending countless clients who have faced similar challenges. As we did for them, we will fight to protect your rights and freedom by developing a strong defense strategy.
How Serious Is A Domestic Violence Charge?
A domestic violence charge can result in a misdemeanor charge and is defined as an attempt or threat to use physical force against another domestic resident. Additionally, domestic violence can result in a felony charged depending on assault & battery laws and is punishable by fines and/or jail time. Before you decide to plea to a domestic violence charge or decide to represent yourself in your case, be aware that there are unexpected consequences that come along with a conviction.
To discuss your legal options with our compassionate criminal defense lawyer, call (407) 315-2888 today.
What Constitutes Domestic Violence in Florida?
When someone harms or threatens to harm their family or household member, the crime can be charged as domestic violence. This includes offenses such as battery, assault, stalking, kidnapping, and other violent crimes.
A family or household member includes:
- Former spouses
- Persons related by blood
- Persons related by marriage
- Individuals who are presently residing together as a family
- Individuals who formerly lived together as a family
- Parents of a the same child
Penalties for Domestic Violence
In Florida, domestic violence is harshly prosecuted. The penalties and long-term consequences typically exceed those of conventional battery. If a defendant is convicted of domestic violence, they must serve at least one year of probation. During that time, the individual may also need to attend a 26-week Batterer’s Intervention Program, unless the judge has ruled that the program would not be appropriate for the given situation.
Additional punishments for domestic violence include:
- Up to one year in jail
- A maximum $1,000 fine
- 5 days in jail if the victim incurred bodily injuries
- Community service hours
- Loss of civil liberties, including owning a firearm
- Imposition of an injunction or no-contact order
Perhaps the most painful consequence of a conviction for domestic violence is being prohibited from any contact with one’s spouse or child. There’s nothing more important than spending quality time with your children. Our legal team is committed to helping you fight your charges.
If you are facing domestic violence charges, you probably feel a range of emotions and are paralyzed by the uncertainty of what to do next. Z Law Firm, L.L.C. is here to provide the counsel you require and can guide you through this turbulent time. With 18 years of success in trial litigation, we have the knowledge and experience to build a strong defense on your behalf.
As a former prosecutor, Attorney Zmijewski understands both sides of the law and how to use that to your advantage. He ensures that the rights of those he represents are protected.