Orlando Battery Lawyer
Providing Sound Legal Guidance Across Orlando and Seminole County
Battery occurs when an individual actually and intentionally touches or strikes another person against their will. The State aggressively pursues crimes against persons, and a conviction can result in jail or prison time. Battery can be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor offense. The level and degree depend on various factors, such as the severity of resulting injuries, the use of a weapon, and whether the victim was a member of a special class.
At Z Law Firm, L.L.C., our Orlando battery attorney has defended hundreds of clients charged with these offenses throughout Central Florida. He has also successfully litigated “Stand Your Ground” cases that resulted in dismissals. If you have been accused of battery, it is important to seek the advice of a skilled and experienced lawyer who will work toward a favorable outcome for you.
Call (407) 315-2888 to schedule your free and confidential case review. Our Orlando Battery Lawyer will take the time to answer your questions and advise you on what defenses may be available to fight your charges.
What Is Florida’s Battery Law?
Florida’s laws define various types of conduct or battery. Depending on the facts of the case, the crime can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony.
Florida’s battery statutes include:
- Simple Battery: Results from the intentional touching or striking of another person that does not cause serious injury and where no weapon is used. This offense is classified as a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail, 1 year of probation, and up to $1,000 in fines. If you’re charged with a second simple battery offense, the State can pursue it as a third-degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in State Prison, 5 years of probation, and up to $5,000 in fines.
- Felony Battery: Also results from the intentional touching or striking of another person, but the action causes bodily harm. This offense is classified as a third-degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in State Prison, 5 years of probation, and a fine up to $5,000.
- Aggravated Battery: This includes conduct that results in great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement, or when a deadly weapon is used. Aggravated battery is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in State Prison, 15 years probation, and up to $10,000 in fines.
- Battery on a Law Enforcement Officer: If simple battery is committed upon a law enforcement officer, it is reclassified from a first-degree misdemeanor to a third-degree felony. If the offense constitutes aggravated battery, the charge will be reclassified from a second- to a first-degree felony.
Because of the serious consequences that can result from a Battery conviction, it is important to seek the advice and counsel of a skilled and knowledgable Orlando lawyer. With over 15 years of criminal trial experience in Central Florida, our attorney will provide an aggressive defense to ensure that your rights and liberties are protected.
As a former prosecutor, Attorney Zmijewski understands both sides of the law and how to use that to your advantage. He ensures that the rights of those he represents are protected.